Northampton Public Schools Superintendent Blog

Superintendent Resignation

Posted on: November 19, 2010

November 18, 2010

SUNSET THROUGH THE TREES © Julija Sapic | Dreamstime.com

Dear faculty and staff,

It is with mixed feelings of excitement and sadness that I inform the School Committee and community that I am resigning as Superintendent of the Northampton Public Schools effective February 11, 2011.

I am happy to announce that I have been offered, and have accepted, the position of Superintendent of Schools for the Granby Public Schools.  I am excited to be given this opportunity and am looking forward to new beginnings and taking on new challenges.

In reflection, I realize what I will miss most from my time in Northampton are all the wonderful people.  The employees, students, parents and the community have enriched my life and my experience in the district.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed being involved with the vibrant Northampton life, from the fabulous work with VINS and their talent shows and dog shows, deep commitment of NEF with their small grants, endowment, Spelling Bee and SOS, to the continued support of groups like our Rotary and the Lions Club to name a few.  The thing they all have in common is their passion and commitment to the schools, their children and the city.

I am proud of the things I have accomplished in my 17 years with Northampton.  We have begun to unify the district through Professional Development, strive for transparent communication with issues like budget, negotiations, regular updates about the status of our CPR audit and holding parent forums to discuss transportation, bullying and the hiring of several key administrators.

I want to reassure the community that the School Committee is in the process of beginning a search for your new Superintendent and they hope to select someone that will fit the needs of the district and allow a continuation of the programs and work being done in our schools right now.  The School Committee voted to appoint an Interim Superintendent until they fill the position permanently.  They also authorized me to work with the Vice-Chair to make a decision on who to appoint, effective February 13, 2011.

I can also confirm that I am dedicated to working for Northampton for the duration of my time here.  Regardless of the fact that I am leaving, I still have work to do.  My calendar continues to fill with appointments and I am still immersed fully in all decisions within the district.  I am confident that the administration and School Committee will work to support one another during this transition.

Thank you for your support and well wishes as I look toward the future and begin a new journey.

It has been an honor and privilege to have had the opportunity to work for you, the students and employees of Northampton as your Superintendent.  Northampton will always hold a piece of my heart and I am truly blessed to have met so many wonderful friends and colleagues that I respect and admire.

Sincerely,

Isabelina Rodriguez, Ed.D.

Superintendent

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 118 other followers

