Northampton Public Schools Superintendent Blog

Interim Superintendent

Posted on: December 1, 2010

OFFICE © Marek Kosmal|Dreamstime.com

I am happy to announce that the School Committee met for a Special School Committee Meeting on November 23rd to announce that an interim Superintendent was selected.   Dr. William Erickson will be filling that role upon my departure until a permanent replacement is found.  My last day with the district will be January 30, 2011 and Dr. Erickson’s first official day will be January 31, 2011.

 

Dr. William Erickson received his Bachelor’s degree from Fitchburg State College, a Master of Education from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and his Doctorate from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.  His administrative experience in education spans almost 35 years, including 14 years as a superintendent in Vermont and Massachusetts.  Dr. Erickson currently works for The Collaborative and is the Executive Secretary for the Connecticut Valley Superintendents’ Roundtable.

I have had the privilege of working with Dr. Erickson during my career in Northampton.  He is a good listener, an educator to his core and has the ability to assess and handle situations with professionalism and a good sense of humor.  I know that Northampton will be in good hands with Dr. Erickson steering the ship.

I would also like to thank Mayor Higgins and the School Committee for their flexibility and decision to waive my contract provision of a 90 day separation notice in order to work with Granby, MA.  Their current Superintendent, Pat Stevens is retiring on January 30th and they have asked that Northampton and Granby work together to provide a smooth transition.  I am also confident that Dr. Erickson and I will be able to work to that same end as I prepare to vacate my position.

Please join me in welcoming Dr. Erickson to the district.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 118 other followers

